BEMF Chamber Ensemble, Philippe Jaroussky, & Amanda Forsythe

2019–2020 Season

Boston Early Music Festival Chamber Ensemble
with Philippe Jaroussky, countertenor
& Amanda Forsythe,

Paul O’Dette & Stephen Stubbs, Musical Directors
Robert Mealy, Concertmaster

Friday, November 29, 2019 at 8pm
Sunday, December 1, 2019 at 3pm
New England Conservatory’s Jordan Hall, Boston

Orpheus, the divine musician who ventures to the underworld in a desperate bid to save his beloved Eurydice, has been an enduring source of inspiration for composers across the centuries. Superstar countertenor Philippe Jaroussky—alongside sublime soprano Amanda Forsythe—draws on three Italian Baroque operas to create a vivid retelling of this tragic legend for the concert stage.

GRAMMY Award–winning Musical Directors Paul O’Dette and Stephen Stubbs lead timeless arias and duets by Claudio Monteverdi, Luigi Rossi, and Antonio Sartorio with these incomparable artists in a program also featuring instrumental interludes from other Baroque masters performed by the all-star BEMF Chamber Ensemble.

AUDIO | VIDEO | PROGRAM | ARTISTS | “Orpheus and Jaroussky” by Stephen Stubbs

Pre-Concert Talk one hour prior to each performance. The program runs about 2 hours.

Part of a North American Tour with additional concert performances in Montréal (November 19=), Seattle (November 22), Kansas City (November 24), and New York City (November 26).

A brilliant idea… Jaroussky moves from husky despair to assertive persuasion.”




Amanda Forsythe and Philippe Jaroussky record Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice for Warner Classics.

Philippe Jaroussky performs the role of Anfione in the Boston Early Music Festival's 2011 Centerpiece Opera, Steffani's Niobe, Regina di Tebe.

Soprano Amanda Forsythe and tenor Colin Balzer perform Steffani's Gelosia with the BEMF Chamber Ensemble in Bremen, Germany.


La storia di Orfeo: Monteverdi • Sartorio • Rossi

Antonio Sartorio: Sinfonia to L’Orfeo
Sartorio: Cara e amabile catena
Claudio Monteverdi: Rosa del Ciel – Io non dirò
Luigi Rossi: Mio ben, teco il tormento
Rossi: Che dolcezza è la certezza
Rossi: Sinfonia from L’Orfeo
Monteverdi: Vi ricorda, o boschi ombrosi
Dario Castello: Sonata 15 from Sonate concertate…in stile moderno, Libro II
Rossi: M’ami tu?
Rossi: A l’imperio d’amore
Sartorio: Ahimè, Numi, son morta – Misero, oh Dio
Rossi: Lagrime, dove sete?
Biagio Marini: Passacalio from Sonate per ogni sorte di stromento musicale
Sartorio: È morta Euridice
Sartorio: Orfeo tu dormi? – Se desti pietà – Ferma, Euridice
Monteverdi: Sinfonia
Monteverdi: Possente spirto
Johann Rosenmüller: Sonata Settima à 4 in D minor from Sonatae a 2, 3, 4 e 5
Agostino Steffani: Se t’eclisse – Vive stele from Orlando
Sartorio: Numic he veggio
Sartorio: Chiuso, ahimè, di Cocito…Rendetemi Euridice
Rossi: Lasciate Averno

BEMF Chamber Ensemble

Paul O’Dette, chitarrone; Stephen Stubbs, chitarrone & Baroque guitar; Robert Mealy & Julie Andrijeski, violin; Sarah Darling, viola; David Morris, violoncello & lirone; Doug Balliett, double bass; Michael Sponseller, harpsichord; Maxine Eilander, Baroque harp