Ensemble Correspondances

Ensemble Correspondances

2021–2022 Season

Ensemble Correspondances

Sébastien Daucé, director

Friday, April 29, 2022
8pm | St. Paul Church, Cambridge

VIRTUAL PREMIERE: Friday, May 13, 2022 at 8pm (ET)
Available to watch until May 27, 2022 at 11:59pm (ET)

Septem Verba & Membra Jesu Nostri: Music of Buxtehude and Schütz

Sébastien Daucé and Ensemble Correspondances are renowned for recordings and performances of Baroque masterpieces that merge passion and elegance. They return to BEMF for the final concert of our 2021–2022 Season with a program showcasing two unique approaches to the Passion story from 17th-century Germany. Buxtehude’s seven-part cycle of Passion cantatas, Membra Jesu nostri, is written to texts from a medieval poem offering a mystical meditation of Christ on the cross. Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund by Schütz focuses on the seven words of Christ on the cross with intense expressivity and diverse stylistic inspirations.

Purchase Tickets
Purchase a Subscription

Virtual Tickets are included FREE with all in-person tickets, or can be purchased on their own.

Virtual Tickets


BEMF is committed to the health and safety of our audiences, artists and staff. We ask that all patrons familiarize themselves with our current safety policies concerning vaccinations, masks, social distancing, and other safety protocols to best ensure that we reopen our doors in a safe and responsible manner.

“Intelligently conceived, expertly performed.”

—Classics Today

Pre-Concert Talk

In lieu of Pre-Concert Talks at the venue, we will present online Pre-Concert Videos with informative discussions featuring scholars and artists the Monday before each program—FREE to watch on YouTube or at BEMF.org.