2021–2022 Season


Paul Agnew, director

Saturday, March 26, 2022
8pm | First Church in Cambridge, Congregational

VIRTUAL PREMIERE: Friday, April 8, 2022 at 8pm (ET)
Available to watch until April 22, 2022 at 11:59pm (ET)

Music of C. P. E. Bach

Musical Co-Director of Les Arts Florissants Paul Agnew makes his BEMF conducting début in a unique collaboration with New York City’s Juilliard415 performing music by C. P. E. Bach. Held in the highest regard by Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven and others, Carl Philipp Emanuel was far more famous in his time than his father, Johan Sebastian. His music still sounds radical to us today, full of unexpected twists, bold harmonies, and virtuosic orchestral writing. Explore the adventurous range of this master composer in a varied program of symphonies and concertos, including the rarely-heard cantata for bass, Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Stande, written soon after he first left his father's home.

This concert celebrates the Packard Humanities Institute's recent publication of CPE Bach's complete works. BEMF thanks the Packard Humanities Institute for their generous support of this concert. The performing parts, based on the critical edition Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: The Complete Works (www.cpebach.org), were made available by the Packard Humanities Institute.

Unfortunately, due to current government advice in the Netherlands relating to the COVID-19 pandemic, the student musicians of Royal Early Music at The Hague originally advertised for this concert are not be able to travel to the US at this time. The concert will go on with Juilliard415 and director Paul Agnew with a revised program.

“Agnew drew alert and expressive singing from the chorus.”

—Chicago Classical Review

Pre-Concert Talk

Enjoy a Pre-Concert Video featuring BEMF Orchestra Director and director of Historical Performance at Juilliard Robert Mealy and celebrated Bach scholar Christoph Wolff.

Program Book


Music of C.P.E. Bach

Symphony in E Minor, Wq 178
Cello Concerto in A Major, Wq 172
String Sinfonia in C Major, Wq 182-3
Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Stande, Wq deest
Symphony in D Major, Wq 183-1